The BREEAM INC certification process in a nutshell

The BREEAM INC certification process in a nutshell

The BREEAM (Building Research Establishment’s Environmental Assessment) certification system is the oldest internationally recognised system for assessing the environmental impact of buildings, the design process and infrastructure. Currently, the BREEAM system, created in the early 20th century, is used to certify newly constructed buildings in about 80 countries and is the most popular certificate in the world. Go4Energy has over a decade of experience in the certification process. Last year alone, Go4Energy obtained as many as 13 BREEAM INC certificates and 34 BREEAM In-Use certificates. During the mentioned BREEAM INC certification process, a newly constructed building is assessed in the following ten categories:

  • Management
  • Health & Wellbeing
  • Energy
  • Transport
  • Water
  • Materials
  • Waste
  • Environmental Use and Ecology
  • Pollution

Innovation each of the categories listed includes one or more BREEAM 'credits’ which can be achieved with appropriate documentation to demonstrate that the project meets the requirements of the credit. This is then supported by photographic documentation. BREEAM has a six level grading scale as outlined below:

BREEAM International New Construction Certification Level Percentage Score depending on 'credits’ achieved (%)
Outstanding ≥ 85
Excellent ≥ 70
Very Good ≥ 55
Good ≥ 45
Pass ≥ 30
Unclassified < 30

Data available on the BRE (Building Research Establishment) website shows that over 60% of new buildings seeking BREEAM International New Construction certification achieve a „Very Good” rating, making this the most popular certification level.

We are looking forward to working with you! 😊

BREEAM Certificates