LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) is an American building evaluation system created by USGBC (U.S. Green Building Council). The LEED certification system is used globally and covers an objective evaluation of results performed by a third party – the Green Building Certification Institute (GBCI). During the certification process all elements of sustainable buildings are taken into account, such as location and type of land intended for the project, consumption of energy and water, quality of internal environment, type of materials used and innovation. These categories are divided into credits; if the project meets them, it may obtain a given number of points. The credits can be broken down to ones that are necessary to obtain the certificate (prerequisites) and ones that are optional (Credits). After the certification process is completed, the building obtains a LEED certificate on one of four levels, depending on the number of points:

  • Certified,
  • Silver,
  • Gold,
  • Platinum.

LEED is divided into several systems depending on the type of certified building:

  • LEED for New Construction and Renovation,
  • LEED for Healthcare,
  • LEED for Retail: New Construction,
  • LEED for Retail: Commercial Interiors,
  • LEED for Schools,
  • LEED for Core & Shell,
  • LEED for Commercial Interiors,
  • LEED for Existing Buildings: Operations & Maintenance,
  • LEED for Neighborhood Development,
  • LEED for Homes (at present, this system cannot be used in Poland).


Certification may cover buildings that already exist, new buildings and individual lease spaces.


Our team includes LEED AP Building Design + Construction. Our company is a member of the American USGBC.

“LEED AP” and the related acronym, and the LEED AP logos are trademarks owned by the U.S. Green Building Council and awarded to individuals under license by the Green Building Certification Institute.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *